Faculty

Brian S. Baldwin
Professor
Plant & Soil Sciences
bbaldwin@pss.msstate.edu
Agronomics and genetics of plants important to biomass, oil production and conservation/prairie restoration

Michael A. Berk
Director, F.L. Crane Professor of Architecture
School of Architecture
mberk@caad.msstate.edu
Ecological Design, Factory-built Modular Housing, Information Design + Theory, Design+Build in the STUDIO

Heejin Cho
Assistant Professor
Mechanical Engineering Department
cho@me.msstate.edu
Energy system modeling and optimization, advanced sensor and control system, combined heat and power (CHP) systems, aerosol technology, filtration

Keith Coble
Giles Distinguished Professor
Agricultural Economics
coble@agecon.msstate.edu
Energy Economics, policy analysis, risk management

Susan V. Diehl
Professor
Department of Forest Products/ Forest & Wildlife Research Center
sdiehl@cfr.msstate.edu
Understanding fungal gene regulation for delignification and biomass breakdown, fungal genomic sequencing and RNA-seq transcriptomics for differentially expressed genes, model gene networks for biomass breakdown

Matthew Freeman
Assistant Professor
Department of Agricultural Economics
freeman@agecon.msstate.edu
Economics and policy

William Todd French
Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering
french@che.msstate.edu
Sustainable production of microbial oils and other products from waste and renewable resources, microbial ecology of the methane gas hydrate ecosystem

Yong Fu
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
fu@ece.msstate.edu
Power systems optimization and economics, energy infrastructure interdependencies, renewable energy integration, electric shipboard power systems, smart grid

El Barbary Hassan
Assistant Professor
Forest Products Department
emhassan@cfr.msstate.edu
Development of biomass utilization techniques (pyrolysis and liquefaction), preparation of value added chemicals and biodegradable polymers from biomass, cellulosic bio-fuels

B. K. Hodge
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering
hodge@me.msstate.edu
Energy conservation in buildings and manufacturing, energy systems, enhanced heat transfer, alternative energy systems

Attila Karsi
Research Associate Professor
CVM Basic Sciences
karsi@cvm.msstate.edu
http://karsilab.cvm.msstate.edu/
Bacterial genomics

Brenda L. Kirkland
Associate Professor
Department of Geosciences
blk39@msstate.edu
Carbonate sedimentology, geomicrobiology, petroleum geology, energy and environmental issues, renewable energy sources, subsurface carbon sequestration

Sundar Rajan Krishnan
Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
krishnan@me.msstate.edu
Internal combustion engines, novel combustion concepts, alternative fuels, combustion modeling, optical combustion diagnostics

Santanu Kundu
Assistant Professor
Chemical Engineering
santanukundu@che.msstate.edu
Sustainability, water purification, biofilms, biopolymers

Shien Lu
Associate Professor
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, and Plant Pathology
sl332@msstate.edu
Bacterial identification, functional characterization of bacterial genes, genetic engineering of bacteria, and bacterial genomics

Pedro Mago
Head and PACCAR Chair Professor
Mechanical Engineering
mago@me.msstate.edu
Energy system design and optimization, combined heat and power (CHP), building energy simulation, waste heat recovery technologies, thermodynamics, HVAC

David L. Monts
Professor
Physics
monts@icet.msstate.edu
Development of new optical, spectroscopic, and imaging experimental techniques for identification and characterization in unusual environments, spectral and multispectral imaging for characterization

Jonathan Pote
Interim Director Energy Institute
Head and William & Sherry Berry Chair in Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
jpote@abe.msstate.edu

Environmental, water quality
Jose M. Rodriguez
Director, Petroleum Products Division, Director, Chemical Regulatory Division, Assistant Research Professor
Mississippi State Chemical Laboratory
jmr385@msstate.edu
Biofuels, renewable fuels, catalysis, biopolymers, EOR. regulations

Rubin Shmulsky
Department Head of Forest Products, Associate Director of SERC
Forest Products Department
rshmulsky@cfr.msstate.edu
Wood and biomass processing and moisture removal technology

Kalyan Kumar Srinivasan
Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
srinivasan@me.msstate.edu
Advanced internal combustion engines, pollutant reduction, exhaust waste-heat recovery, thermodynamic analysis of combustion processes, alternative fuels

Glenn Steele
Giles Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Energy Institute
steele@me.msstate.edu
Energy systems, biofuels, uncertainty analysis

Philip Steele
Research Professor
Forest Products and Sustainable Energy Research Center
psteele@cfr.msstate.edu
Pyrolysis reactor design, maximization of pyrolysis oil production, conversion of pyrolysis oils to biofuels

S. D. Filip To
Associate Professor
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
fto@abe.msstate.edu
Sensors, Automation, Control, Electronics, Robotics, Software Application and Modeling

Dennis D. Truax
James T. White Chair, Head, and Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
truax@CEE.MsState.Edu
Energy use optimization, biomass generation and conversion, resource management

Charles A. Waggoner
Deputy Director & Research Professor
Institute for Clean Energy Technology
waggoner@icet.msstate.edu
Nuclear containment ventilation, radiation detection and measurement

David Wipf
Professor
Department of Chemistry
wipf@ra.msstate.edu
Scanning probe microscopy, the initiation and propagation of localized corrosion, interfacial electron-transfer kinetics, scanning electrochemical microscopy, lithium batteries, investigation of materials by SECM

Fei Yu
Associate Professor
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
fyu@abe.msstate.edu
Thermochemical conversion